Contact

#SuccessStory – Manny

Manuel or Manny, as his friends in America and Canada call him, began his helicopter pilot training in Hillsboro in 2017. After completing his American licenses (Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Flight Instructor), he started as a flight instructor in Hillsboro and Troutdale.

When the time was right and he had already gained some experience, his passion took him to Hawaii where he primarily flew tourists over volcanoes and jungle vegetation in a Robinson R44. The steep, completely overgrown canyons combined with the strong trade winds that “whistle” over the ocean taught him many tricks essential for mountain flying.

After his visa expired in the USA, it was time to acquire the EASA license and breathe a bit of homeland air. However, as soon as the ATPL EASA project in Austria was completed, he was drawn back across the Atlantic to Canada. Initially, to the cold north where oil and gas companies need helicopters to perform their operations in the “bush” (AS350, H130, H120).

Next, he moved to an island, specifically Vancouver Island in the west of Canada. There he remains to this day, piloting a wide variety of missions on Bell 206 and AS350. From tree planting projects and logging operations to firefighting missions as well as scenic flights to glacial lakes in the summer. Now and then, he’s also involved in rescue operations and search missions.

The work as a helicopter pilot in Canada is very diverse and comes with many exciting landings in remote areas. He loves the freedom of flying and is grateful to have the opportunity to do a job like this.

Discover the World of Flying - Are you in?

Your Chance to Learn More and Meet Us in Person!

  • Aero Friedrichshafen 2024

    17.04-20.04.2024 Aero Friedrichshafen Our Hillsboro Aero Academy team is back at Aero Friedrichshafen this year! A must for all aviation…

    Read more

Kontakt

#SuccessStory – Manny

Manuel oder Manny, wie in seine Freunde in Amerika und Kanada nennen, hat 2017 in Hillsboro seine Ausbildung zum Hubschrauberpiloten begonnen. Nach Abschluss seiner amerikanischen Lizenzen (Privatpilot, Instument Rating, Fluglehrer) hat er dann in Hillsboro und Troutdale als Fluglehrer gestartet. 

Als die Zeit reif war und er bereits einiges an Erfahrung sammeln konnte, schickte ihn seine Passion nach Hawaii wo er hauptsächlich Touristen über Vulkane und Dschungelvegitation (Robinson R44) flog. Die steilen und vollkommen überwachsenen Schluchten in Kombination mit den starken Passatwinden, welche über den Ozean „pfeifen“, lehrten ihn viele Tricks die in der Gebirgsfliegerrei wichtig sind.  

Nach Ablauf seines Visums in den USA war es dann an der Zeit die EASA Lizenz so erwerben und wieder etwas Heimatluft zu schnappen. Sobald das Projekt ATPL EASA in Österreich jedoch abgeschlossen war, zog es ihn wieder über den Atlantik nach Kanada. Zuerst in den kalten Norden wo Öl und Gas Konzerne Hubschrauber benötigen um Ihre Arbeiten im „Busch“ zu erledigen. (AS350, H130, H120) 

Danach ging es wieder auf eine Insel, und zwar auf Vancouver Island im Westen von Kanada. Dort ist er bis jetzt und fliegt sehr viel unterschiedliche Dinge auf Bell 206 und AS350. Vom Baumpflanzprojekten über Holzarbeiten zu Feuerbekämpfungseinsätzen sowie Rundflüge zu Gletscherseen im Sommer. Hin und wieder auch mal Rettungseinsätze und Suchaktionen. 

Die Arbeit as Hubschrauber Pilot in Kanada ist sehr Abwechslungsreich und bringt viele spannende Außenlandungen mit sich. Er liebt die Freiheit am Fliegen und ist dankbar, dass er die Möglichkeit hat eine Job wie diesen machen zu können. 

Entdecke die Welt des Fliegens - Bist du dabei?

Deine Chance, mehr zu erfahren und uns persönlich zu treffen!