Contact

#SuccessStory – Manuel

My name is Manuel Dunst, I am from Austria, and it was there that I began my aviation career in early 2020 with private pilot training.

After receiving the private license and numerous flights with family and friends, I sought more and came across an online advertisement for the Hillsboro Heli Academy. Following an information session with the then ADAC program leader from the Hillsboro Heli Academy, I decided to apply for the ADAC program and continue my training in America.

My time at the Hillsboro Heli Academy was very organized and went smoothly, allowing me to complete my commercial pilot/flight instructor training in spring 2022. Fortunately, I found a fantastic employer in Orlando, Florida, right after graduation, allowing me to gain a lot of experience and flight hours and prepare well for air rescue.

In Florida, my responsibilities included training flight students and offering tourist flights around the Disney Parks and the NASA Space Launch Complex at Cape Canaveral. I also performed numerous aerial jobs, such as collecting alligator eggs in the swamps, gender reveals, photo flights, and relief efforts after hurricanes. Especially after Hurricane IAN in September 2022, I carried out many such missions, primarily flying technicians and their equipment into disaster areas, where they installed communication systems for local emergency services. Furthermore, numerous survey and news flights were conducted in the affected areas.

I had the distinct honor of taking over a brand-new helicopter at the Robinson manufacturer plant in Los Angeles and ferrying it across America, from the West Coast to the East Coast, to Orlando. Parallel to all the adventures in America, in December 2022, I took part in the DLR test of the ADAC air rescue in Hamburg. After passing the selection, I was offered a position at Christoph 76 (Westfalen), fulfilling a childhood dream. In July 2023, I switched to ADAC air rescue and have since been looking forward to many exciting missions.

Discover the World of Flying - Are you in?

Your Chance to Learn More and Meet Us in Person!

  • Aero Friedrichshafen 2024

    17.04-20.04.2024 Aero Friedrichshafen Our Hillsboro Aero Academy team is back at Aero Friedrichshafen this year! A must for all aviation…

    Read more

Kontakt

#SuccessStory – Manuel

Mein Name ist Manuel Dunst, ich stamme aus Österreich und habe auch dort Anfang 2020 mit der Ausbildung zum Privatpiloten meine fliegerische Laufbahn begonnen.

Nach dem Erhalt der Privatlizenz und zahlreichen Flügen mit Familie und Freunden strebte ich nach mehr und wurde nach Recherche auf ein Online-Inserat der Hillsboro Heli Academy aufmerksam. Nach einem Infogespräch mit dem damaligen ADAC-Programmleiter seitens der Hillsboro Heli Academy wurde der Entschluss gefasst, mich beim ADAC-Programm zu bewerben und meine Ausbildung in Amerika fortzusetzen.

Die Zeit in der Hillsboro Heli Academy verlief sehr organisiert und reibungslos, wodurch ich im Frühjahr 2022 meine Ausbildung als Berufspilot/Fluglehrer abschließen konnte. Zu meinem Glück fand ich direkt nach der Graduation einen tollen Arbeitgeber in Orlando/Florida, welcher es mir ermöglichte viel Erfahrung und Flugstunden zu sammeln und mich gut auf die Luftrettung vorzubereiten.

Zu meinen Aufgabengebieten in Florida zählte sowohl das Trainieren von Flugschülern als auch Touristenflügen um die Disney Parks und dem NASA Weltraumbahnhof Cape Canaveral. Des Weiteren durfte ich auch zahlreiche Aerial Jobs wie beispielsweise das Einsammeln von Alligatoreiern in den Sumpfgebieten, Gender Reveals, Photo Flights bis hin zu Hilfseinsätzen nach Hurricans durchführen. Besonders nach Hurrican IAN im September 2022 kam es zu einer Vielzahl solcher Einsätze wo ich in erster Linie Techniker und ihr Equipment in die Katastrophengebiete einflog, welche Kommunikationssysteme für lokalen Einsatzkräfte installierten. Des Weiteren wurden auch zahlreiche Survey- und News Flüge in den betroffenen Gebieten durchgeführt.

Eine besondere Ehre wurde mir zuteil, als ich einen werksneuen Hubschrauber im Robinson Herstellerwerk in Los Angeles übernehmen und quer durch Amerika, von der West- an die Ostküste, nach Orlando überstellen durfte. Parallel zu all den Abenteuern in Amerika nahm ich im Dezember 2022 am DLR-Test der ADAC-Luftrettung in Hamburg teil. Nach bestandener Selektion wurde mir eine Stelle am Christoph 76 (Westfahlen) angeboten, womit ein Kindheitstraum für mich in Erfüllung ging. Mit Juli 2023 habe ich zur ADAC-Luftrettung gewechselt und freue mich seid dort an auf viele spannende Einsätze.

Entdecke die Welt des Fliegens - Bist du dabei?

  • Aero Friedrichsgafen 2023